January 2, 2016

Officers

Executive Board


Chief

The Chief is responsible for overseeing the actions, performance, and medical care provided by MIT EMS. The Chief is also responsible for maintaining relations with the MIT Medical administration, Professional EMS, Cambridge Fire Department, MIT Police, Boston EMS, Medical Control, and any other external agency with which MIT EMS interacts.

Email: chief@ems.mit.edu

Director of Ambulance Operations

The Director of Ambulance Operations (DAO) is responsible for the day-to-day operation of the MIT ambulance and scheduling of standbys. The DAO is ultimately responsible for the status of the MIT ambulance, including maintenance, equipment, and crew scheduling.

Email: dao@ems.mit.edu

Director of Professional Development

The Director of Professional Development (DPD) is responsible for ensuring that MIT EMS provides high-quality care to its patients, and includes overseeing training, drills, run reviews, and continuing education classes.

Email: dpd@ems.mit.edu

General Officers


Class Officer

The Class Officer is responsible for organizing and running the annual EMT-B class held during IAP and acting as the head Teaching Assistant. In addition, the Class Officer works with the Community Relations Officer to advertise and generate interest for the class.

Email: class@ems.mit.edu

Community Relations Officer

The Community Relations Officer is responsible for the outreach to the MIT community through advertising, networking with members of the administration, and holding special events. In addition, the Community Relations Officer works with the HeartSafe Officer(s) to coordinate the MassCPR event held every Spring

Email: community@ems.mit.edu

Equipment Officer

The Equipment Officer is responsible for the condition and stocking of the ambulance medical equipment as well as the standby bags. The Equipment Officer, in conjunction with the Director of Ambulance Operations, is responsible for ordering needed equipment.

Email: equipment@ems.mit.edu

Financial Officer

The Financial Officer is responsible for maintaining the financial viability of MIT EMS. This includes but is not limited to maintaining responsible stewardship over the MIT EMS accounts, requesting ASA funding, and obtaining funding for events and purchases.

Email: financial@ems.mit.edu

HeartSafe Officers

The HeartSafe Officers are responsible for increasing awareness within both MIT EMS and the larger MIT community of cardiac-related medical emergencies. The HeartSafe Officers are also responsible for coordinating CPR courses for members of MIT EMS and the greater MIT community, and for working with the Community Relations Officer(s) to coordinate MassCPR every Spring.

Email: heartsafe@ems.mit.edu

Human Resources Officer

The Human Resources Officer is responsible for ensuring that all members of MIT EMS have the proper paperwork and certifications on file to legally work as an EMT.

Email: hr@ems.mit.edu

Maintenance Officer

The Maintenance Officer is responsible for scheduling routine maintenance of the ambulance.

Email: maintenance@ems.mit.edu

Scheduling Officers

The Scheduling Officers are responsible for ensuring that the MIT ambulance is fully staffed whenever it is in service.

Email: scheduling@ems.mit.edu

Social Officers

The Social Officers are responsible for maintaining the morale of the service by organizing and running social events.

Email: social@ems.mit.edu

Training Officers

The Training Officers re responsible for coordinating monthly training drills and other continuing education programs for members of the service.

Email: training@ems.mit.edu

Webmaster

The Webmaster is responsible for maintaining the MIT EMS website and database as well as supporting other officers with various technical needs.

Email: webmaster@ems.mit.edu

Administrative Staff


Clinical Director

The Clinical Director is a staff member of MIT Medical and provides administrative oversight of MIT EMS.

Email: clinical@ems.mit.edu

Technical Director

The Technical Director is a staff member of MIT Medical and provides technical guidance for MIT EMS.

Email: technical@ems.mit.edu